Reviews

These reviews were left by Desiderata.

Zimby Mojo

Way too lo...

by Desiderata

Way too long and chaotic. And the theme--what is even remotely fun or interesting about that?

4/1/2020

Yunnan

No Review Title

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Yspahan

Simple, ye...

by Desiderata

Simple, yet deep game with a decent theme. Very Euro in mechanics, but uses very unique dice mechanic. Nice board and bits, especially the wooden camels! Would like to play this more.

4/1/2020

Ys+

Can't reme...

by Desiderata

Can't remember much, but the blind bidding mechanic sticks in my mind. Decent soulless Euro.Edit: after many years since I've played and my gaming tastes have changed a bit. I now appreciate and enjoy these types of games better (i.e. soulless Euros). The theme is nonexistent, but I don't care about that so much anymore. What's important is the gameplay is solid. I'd like to play it again.

4/1/2020

Yomi: Round 2

No Review Title

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Yomi EX Powerup

I received...

by Desiderata

I received this with the Deluxe Set, and have only used some of the character's Power Up cards so far. What I've used so far is great. It's nice to have more powerful cards (and character innate abilities) for new players to use vs more experienced players. Also intrigued by the 3-player rules with Midori's Dragon Card.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

I own all 20 characters. The art and theme of the characters is juvenile; understandably, they're targeting the video game audience. The gameplay is excellent. This is a great competitive, balanced game with minimal setup, minimal footprint that you and a friend can knock out in 15 mins per match once you get familiar with your character. On the surface, it may seem like it's as random as Rock, Paper, Scissors, but that couldn't be further from the truth. In the beginning, that may be true. But as you play more and become familiar with the flow as well as the characters' strengths and weaknesses, it becomes much more strategic and hand management is a big part as well. Each character takes some familiarity to play well given their innate ability(ies), card abilities, and deck composition. And with 20 different characters, there is a ton of game here to explore. I enjoyed some fighting video games as a teenager, but the button mashing dexterity aspect of those no longer really appeals to me. I like how this game provides the same feel in more of a mind game format. I never played the first edition, but I understand they incentivized the use of normal attacks.Note: My logged plays are in-person only. I've played many more times online that are not tracked here. Speaking of which, the Steam app is incredible; very well implemented and kudos to the developer.Trade note: I have an extra copy of most characters that I'm willing to trade.

4/1/2020

Yokohama

No Review Title

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Yedo Board Game

Could have...

by Desiderata

Could have been a great game, but is marred by punishingly random events. Normally, this wouldn't be too bad, but in a game this long (our 4-er lasted about 3.5 hours including teaching) it's just too frustrating. I really am surprised those events made it through playtesting. It seems the designer(s) tried to make the game punishing, but in doing so, made it frustrating in the process. I don't mind the watchman making it risky for players to place disciples in a region, but the screwage from manipulating his movement is just too harsh as well. And add to that that your disciples (beyond 2) are not just returned without doing the action, but are lost!Apparently, you can play this game without the event cards (or, I can see even customizing the event deck). In that case, the game would be MUCH better, but would still run quite long for what it is. However, I'd be much more inclined to play it sans event cards.The rest of the game is pretty good though. I see the similarities to Princes of Florence, as others say. In fact, it's a fair step above PoF in terms of theme at least.

4/1/2020

Yinsh

I'm normal...

by Desiderata

I'm normally not fond of abstracts, but this game is fun. Lighter and less serious than Chess. Therefore, I'm more likely to sit down for a quick 20 minute game of Yinsh. Components are good and nice to handle. This game can be taught quickly, so it has good newbie appeal.

4/1/2020

Würfel Bohnanza

I guess it...

by Desiderata

I guess it feels a bit like Bohnanza, but it's one of the less interesting dice game derivatives.

4/1/2020

Worm Up

No Review Title

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

World Without End

Good solid...

by Desiderata

Good solid mid-weight Euro, but I'm afraid the building VPs are just too weak. Always makes sense to use resources to build the town projects instead for better payoff and no risk of any events undoing your progress like can happen with the buildings.

4/1/2020

Wits & Wagers

I got this...

by Desiderata

I got this game because I needed (or thought I needed) a party game in my collection. Among the party games, this one got higher marks here on the Geek. I can tolerate a game above other more mainstream party games, but beyond that, I don't enjoy it. Trivia is more easily tolerable whilst downing a few beers.

4/1/2020

Wir Sind Das Volk!

Played hal...

by Desiderata

Played half a game as a learning game, then one full game. I think we got all the rules right, although it's really questionable since the Berlin situation is so fiddly and complicated. However, the game feels a little dry to me and I can't really get into the theme of it, despite it being a highly thematic game. The mechanics themselves aren't quite enough to make me excited to want to play this.Might give it another try or two before deciding to trade/sell it.

4/1/2020

Winner'S Circle

A Knizia a...

by Desiderata

A Knizia auction game where you bet on 3 horses each for 3 separate races. Then roll a die on your turn and choose a horse to move (that hasn't already moved). Each horse has a move value for each die face. Once all horses have moved, they all reset and each are available to be moved again. Winning horses pay out to those who bet on them. Oh, and each players' bets are secret.

4/1/2020

Wingspan

Good game,...

by Desiderata

Good game, with an underutilized theme. Gameplay goes well with the theme and there are even biological facts included on each bird card. Many of the bird effects are thematically tied to their biological facts as well which is a nice touch. I think a couple of particular area needs improvement/tweaking. End game resulted in 3 of the 4 of us just going for eggs with final few actions. No real incentive to go for birds (unless there is one for a high VP value), food, or cards so the end game felt rather railroady for most of us (one player pursued his extra hidden goal cards instead of going for eggs). Otherwise, it was a really enjoyable experience.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

This is quite an amazing game. Asymetric sides, dripping with theme, multiple ways to win, combat as well as hidden Fellowship. The designers have captured most of the characters, events, and locations from the books and incorporated it into the game. Excellent concept and true to the story or the story's potential. It's great to play each side, as they play so differently from each other. I love the tension involved with the various aspects of the game, such as when to separate companions from the fellowship, when to use cards as an event or for combat advantages, and when and where to initiate an assault on the enemy cities/strongholds. Epic wargame level that takes a few games into it to become familiar with the rules and gameplay. Absolutely the best thematic game I've ever played. I would prefer wooden discs as units over the plastic figures, for playability. There's a file created by a user here who made an excellent set of stickers for wooden discs. Someday...(2nd Edition Comments) Better board, slight tweaks to rules and characters, bigger cards, better Nazgul sculpts, and cleaner rules.

4/1/2020

War of the Ring

This is qu...

by Desiderata

This is quite an amazing game. Asymetric sides, dripping with theme, multiple ways to win, combat as well as hidden Fellowship. All the good stuff from the books is present in this game. Excellent concept and true to the story or the story's potential. It's great to play each side, as they play so differently from each other. I love the tension involved with the various aspects of the game, such as when to separate companions from the fellowship, when to use cards as an event or for combat advantages, and when and where to initiate an assault on the enemy cities/strongholds. Epic wargame level that takes a few games into it to become familiar with the rules and gameplay. Overall, great fun!Absolutely the best thematic game I've ever played.I would prefer wooden discs as units over the plastic figures, for playability. There's a file created by a user here who made an excellent set of stickers for wooden discs. Someday...

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

Quite abstract and disconnected from the theme, but decent game nevertheless. Cubes seem rather loose, and actions rather tight. In fact, most of the actions on the board I wasn't even able to take. The game was over so quickly, and I didn't really feel like I had enough interesting decisions. I think it's a great, light family game though.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

Best thing about this game is it fills the game-that-plays-well-with-more-than-five-and-not-too-long niche. Players are collecting various colors of beans and trying to (cooperatively, in some sense) fill orders for points. There are also some technology tracks, so this offers some level of variation to one's strategy from game to game. The colors were difficult to discern at times, even for players who aren't color blind.

4/1/2020

Viva Topo!

No Review Title

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

A lot of interesting additions to a good game.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Viticulture

A fun, wel...

by Desiderata

A fun, well-produced wine-making worker placement game of medium complexity. Game end condition is a race to earn VPs, similar to that of Power Grid in that timing is an issue to master. Fun to develop your vinyard in different ways than other players.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

This is a nice addition that gives a little bonus to players who may not be producing as many wines as other players (or players who have only high value wines) as it allows the ability to move a Manager's barrel without discarding a wine token.

4/1/2020

Vinhos Deluxe

No Review Title

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Vinhos

Nice heavy...

by Desiderata

Nice heavy euro, with a unique theme. I especially enjoy the various ways to earn VPs, rather than having only one or two viable paths. Just enough luck in the weather to prevent you from having sure success with your wine product. There is a lot going on here, and I understand some criticisms about the games within a game, but I really enjoy it all.

4/1/2020

Village Port Expansion

No Review Title

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Village Inn

Some nice ...

by Desiderata

Some nice additions to a good base game. Adds the option for a fifth player as well as a location to brew beer and a location to spend beer in order to get favorable cards.

4/1/2020

Village

Sort of a ...

by Desiderata

Sort of a mix of various Euro mechanics tacked onto a very dull theme with an even duller box cover. However, the gameplay is interesting enough to entertain gamers. Still, it's not something that I'll be craving to play all the time, but after one play, I'd be happy to play it again. It does have various paths to victory, so not every player will be doing the same thing.Update after three plays: I like this one quite a bit for a medium weight game. It's got the scarcity that I tend to like in Euros, and the game is tense. Very balanced, as the various ways to score VPs all seem viable.

4/1/2020

Villa Paletti

Simple, li...

by Desiderata

Simple, light filler. Good game for children to play.

4/1/2020

Vikings

Pretty fun...

by Desiderata

Pretty fun game with lots to think about. Auction, tile placement, and several interesting mechanics going on at once here. Several ways to score VPs, and plenty of opportunity for player screwage. Some randomness with tiles and vikings drawn, but manageable.

4/1/2020

Viceroy

No Review Title

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Vegas Showdown

Nice biddi...

by Desiderata

Nice bidding game with a well-implemented theme. There are many items to bid on, as well as other actions to take if you get outbid. The event cards throw some spice into the game.

4/1/2020

Vasco Da Gama

Almost fee...

by Desiderata

Almost feels like it needs more options in which to place your workers. Maybe just a tad too simplified in that regard. I never really felt any tension as to whether or not I would be able to do what I wanted in a given turn. Still a good game.We might have played by some wrong rule, but it seemed almost better to just field a ship but not sail it on the last turn. Also, the 2+2 VPs for taking the particular role seems a no-brainer.

4/1/2020

Tournay

End-game s...

by Desiderata

End-game scoring is quite unbalanced. This one is nothing like Troyes, its predecessor (well, except for the artwork). This one forces players to use all three color types (red, white, yellow) and adds a spatial element in buildings on a 3x3 grid. There is no central shared board, so you have to look at each player's individual tableau in order to see what they have, which slows down play considerably. Overall, I will not recommend this game.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

Dexterity flicking game where you're trying to flick discs which represent toppings onto the pizza in a certain configuration which scores points. I didn't find this very fun at all.

4/1/2020

Too Many Cooks

Light, but...

by Desiderata

Light, but fun, trick-taking card game. The only thing I disliked was that once you chose a set for a round, you couldn't choose that set in later rounds of the game. Actually, that restriction is probably what makes it a good game. It's just that if you get a really bad card draw, it can ruin your chances of winning.

4/1/2020

Toledo

Not a bad ...

by Desiderata

Not a bad game for its relatively simple complexity. Game ends quicker than you expect and someone sneaks in for the win. Make and deliver ornamental swords. Fight against other players to prevent them from presenting the most elaborate sword.

4/1/2020

Tokaido

Very good ...

by Desiderata

Very good decision-making reward in such a simple, short game.

4/1/2020

Tiny Epic Kingdoms

A very lig...

by Desiderata

A very light, decent low-luck fantasy-themed 4X game.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

That Wallace flavor, but unique enough in mechanics to keep it fun. I especially like the VP track with the (sort of) auction mechanic. Nice production value, as is expected from Warfrog/Treefrog. I love the balancing mechanisms with the Time Track and the Victory Point boxes. Very elegant design for a Wallace game.

4/1/2020

Time's Up!

Just no.

by Desiderata

Just no.

4/1/2020

Tigris & Euphrates

Very heavy...

by Desiderata

Very heavy compared to the other Knizia games I've played. This game reminds me of multiplayer chess…in a good way. This is a very solid game, and I'm critical of it only because spatial games aren't my thing.

4/1/2020

TieBreaker

Ummm, I ca...

by Desiderata

Ummm, I can't believe some folks paid money for this. Not even a game, really.

4/1/2020

Tide of Iron

Played the...

by Desiderata

Played the intro scenario, which, surprisingly, uses most of the game concepts and isn't quite as short as one would think of an "intro" scenario. Retweaked the US reinforcements (i.e. eliminated them altogether) in order to make the scenario more balanced. Gameplay is quite simple by conflict simulation standards, but beginning can be AP prone as you figure out how to maneuver your units without them getting blown to bits by the defending Americans in the woods. Negatives are the frustration of having to remove the figurines from the bases (I was sure one was going to break in the process--that plastic is not going to hold up). Opp fire is weird, as it only kicks in when a unit *moves*. And I was even lucky enough to have my opponent handle all the setup and teardown. An enemy in your unit's LOS can fire at you, and even if you're set to Opp fire, you won't fire back. Another gripe is the unrealistic ability to fire through your own units--there is no fratricide, apparently. Makes it difficult to screen weaker units. Suppressive fire seems almost overpowered compared to normal fire. You can sometimes ELIMINATE an entire unit through suppressive fire more easily than normal fire. And, even if you fail to eliminate the unit, you'll at least cause them to be out of commission for a turn or two. The attrition is excessive as well. No way to really rally troops nor is there really any incentive of having them initiate an organized retreat. It's pretty much just move to the best cover you can find and throw lead down range. Once they get in a position, they're pretty much stuck there for the duration until they're killed. In summary, not fun unless you like sending units in to their quick death and chucking tons of dice.

4/1/2020

Ticket To Ride

I've got t...

by Desiderata

I've got to admit, that although I was skeptical, I actually enjoyed this game. Could be because I won in my first game (against 3 other players)! But, after playing Thurn & Taxis, I didn't think TTR would be as entertaining. Well, it isn't quite as fun, but it was still pretty good. The game offers enough options to keep it from being completely out of the players' control. And, being a light game, it doesn't drag on too long. The hidden VPs in the route cards really make it a good game, rather than a decent one.Like other light, gateway games, this one will be fun to play once in a while. Being the gamer that I am, I will want to play meatier games more often.

4/1/2020

Tichu

Heart-poun...

by Desiderata

Heart-pounding trick-taking action!!!I rate this as a 7 when playing to 500. Games to 1,000 points take too long, typically. Because of that, I rate it a 5 in that case. This game is a pain to teach. Even those familiar with traditional card games have a hard time with this because it adds "weird" cards like the Dragon, Poenix and Dog, as well as because the legal plays are different in this climbing game.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

Not much here really added, but it's pretty good, I guess. It encourages players to get their houses on the board quicker, as the first player to put a house on a location, gets the letter tile from that location. On a player's turn, two tiles can be spent to use the ability of a 2nd character. There's another rule that when a player completes a route without acquiring a new carriage, they get a marker. As long as a player holds that marker, (he keeps it until someone else acquires it from him) he may spend only one letter marker to use the letter ability. Overall, not a bad expansion, but the game still maintains the same feel to me, so I don't know how necessary this expansion would be. In other words, I would probably tire of the T&T altogether and want to play something else rather than want to play it more with this expansion.

4/1/2020

Thurn and Taxis

Fun card-b...

by Desiderata

Fun card-based game of building postal routes. Beautiful bits and board! There's no route blocking as there is in Ticket to Ride, but there is player interaction by choosing cards your opponent will want--or discarding them altogether! Fun for gamers and non-gamers alike. Very little opportunity for players to delay with analysis paralysis, so the game moves along nicely.

4/1/2020

Thunderstone Quest

A marked i...

by Desiderata

A marked improvement over the original Thunderstone which I played long ago. Still not keen on so much deckbuilding and shuffling, but I'd choose this over Clank, Dominion, etc.

4/1/2020

Thunderstone

Still the ...

by Desiderata

Still the annoying shuffling of Dominion, but a more interesting theme. Significantly more complex than its predecessor as well. I wonder if the Light and/or Hero Strength rules could be done away with and still be a fun game. Anyways, I enjoyed it more than Dominion.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

This is a very unique design. Nothing like anything I've played before, although I understand there are others like it (a series). I love the tactical nature of the combat portion of the game. However, I don't much care for the pre-mission planning, especially the choosing of pilots and manipulating their experience level. I have only played a handful of games, but so far that seems to take longer than I care for, yet seems to be critical to success. In any case, I'd like to play this more when I get around to it. This will be competing with Mage Knight for my solo playing. Edit: Great game, but I'm just not interested enough in solo gaming to bother with it.

4/1/2020

Thunder Alley

Way more f...

by Desiderata

Way more fun than watching real NASCAR. that's not saying much for the game. But really, it's a pretty fun game.

4/1/2020

Through the Desert

Area contr...

by Desiderata

Area control in (probably) it's simplest form. Simple end-game scoring for a Knizia design. Non-gamers seem to love the pastel camels. Scales well, and worth keeping!

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

This is a great game with many balanced paths to victory. I always find myself "praying" for my color to be drawn from the bag early so I get a first choice of placement. Very engaging game! Excellent expansion to add on to an already great base game. I read the book after playing it, and although it started out slow, I enjoyed the book as well. This improves the base game, which is already a good game itself.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

Great game. Maybe I'm a sucker for worker placement, but I love all the decisions and various ways to score VPs. The production quality is spectacular, which adds to the enjoyment. Easy to teach and quick to play. A nice build-up to introducing others to Caylus or Agricola!

4/1/2020

The Networks

Played onc...

by Desiderata

Played once at LT. Enjoyed it. Claim cards (shows, actors, adverts) and assign them to the shows. Make, or pay, money, and earn points for your shows.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

A race to build nuclear bombs. Sort of worker-placement with a direct conflict mechanic--you can bomb the other players' buildings. Winner can sneak up on you. Many of the bombs are significant VPs, so two bombs is sometimes enough to win the game. And there's no VP track, so it's difficult to keep tabs on other players' progress to know when to do an Air Strike.

4/1/2020

Hanging Gardens

Reminds me...

by Desiderata

Reminds me of Alhambra. Not bad, but not great either.

4/1/2020

The Grizzled

A co-op ga...

by Desiderata

A co-op game where players are limited in how much they can communicate with each other. This prevents a single player from dominating the decision-making, but it also makes the game very difficult to win. The artwork is good, and it's fun to play with players who get into the theme (especially when it comes to Hard Knock cards).

4/1/2020

The Great Zimbabwe

Interestin...

by Desiderata

Interesting part is the decisions allowed for players to determine their abilities at the cost of increasing victory requirements. unfortunately for me, I had a terrible time making sense of the spatial goods transfer portion of the game. Turn order seems too critical in end game. Another BGGer commented best:"The game starts off with plenty of open ground for a variety of decisions - setting prices to dictate the economy and selecting which power(s) you will use (or not) - but once that phase ends, the game bogs down into jockeying for turn order and a logistical efficiency puzzle. “Can you use up the goods on the board before the other players” is now the game space for clever moves, so you have to be delighted in puzzling that out and watching other players go through that process while you wait and wait for your turn."

4/1/2020

The Great Khan Game

Not sure h...

by Desiderata

Not sure how it relates to Forgotton Realms (or D&D at all, for that matter), but the art and names of cards/locations are humorous. I found it to be way too long for a game that has this amount of swinginess and randomness. Combat takes too long and slows the game down quite a bit. It also is tedious as you have to scan the other player's cards to analyze whether or not invading or couping is worthwhile. Best part is the cute factor of the cards.

4/1/2020

The Gallerist

Need to pl...

by Desiderata

Need to play again. Interesting enough, I suppose.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

Proves that dice (and cards, for that matter) aren't necessary for games involving player combat. Good game for it's length and complexity. This is an excellent choice for a blend of Ameritrash and Eurogame, and should satisfy fans of either. One of the few 3-player games that remains balanced. Clean rules and minimal setup time bump up my rating slightly.

4/1/2020

The Colonists

I thought ...

by Desiderata

I thought the game was "okay", but not great. Typical Euro where you gather resources, upgrade things and build things for points. Seems to be a focus of proper chaining of actions and storage of goods. Neither of which are particularly interesting. Can be a lot of AP since you're limited to where your pawn can move among the action spaces. Storage is very limited, and some weird restrictive rules about when you can upgrade your residences. The residences house your workers (not workers in the WP sense, but the ones you need to "man" your buildings and storages). Only played the intro game (without using the Embassies), and we played through the first 2 (of 4) eras. The embassies seem to offer rule-breaking bonuses and a different 4 are available each game, so there's some variety. I'm not too keen on setting it up and playing again, tbh. Just didn't scratch any particular gaming itch of mine, I suppose. There's not much player interaction; not even blocking of spaces, as you can always go to a market stall, and even if another pawn is on the space you need to go to, you can still go; you just have to pay a fee. One thing that was weird is that my opponent and I were swimming in tools the entire game, and a reread confirms we played by the correct rules.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Successors

Rating bas...

by Desiderata

Rating based on using all optional rules. I recommend withholding judgement on the game if you haven't played at least using the more balanced Extra Generals rules on how to acquire Eumenes/Seleucus. Multiplayer version of Hannibal: Rome vs. Carthage. Earlier conflict and predates the Punic Wars, but mechanics are similar and the designer for Hannibal is one of the designers of Successors. Alexander has died without electing an heir or appointing anyone to manage his empire after his death, despite being ill for several days (possibly poisoned?). His generals divide up the empire into satrapies while waiting for his Persian wife to give birth to (hopefully) a boy. The generals, Alexander's inner circle of closest friends, were much more loyal to Alexander than each other. Conflict results, and the result is Every General For Himself.The goal is to conquer land and subjugate the people or convince them to support your faction. Make deals with other generals in order to defeat your rival generals. Claim legitimacy for the throne by marrying royal family members and/or becoming the guardian of one of the three heirs. The game is a great study of a very entertaining period of history. The game is mostly true to history. The important generals at the time are all depicted in the game and even begin in their own satrapies assigned to them by Perdiccas. However, for game play purposes, alliances vary from game to game. In a 4 player game, each player controls 2 such generals, who will always be allied throughout the game and always be vying against the remaining generals controlled by opposing players. For example, although Eumenes was loyal to Perdiccas throughout the conflict, in the game each of these generals could be on separate factions controlled by two players. What's more, each game is unique in that the generals are all shuffled and distributed to players randomly at the start of the game. One game, you might be playing as Antigonus and Ptolemy, another game you're Peithon and Lysimachus, each in their own starting area of the map.Historically, Alexander's funeral cart (along with his body, of course) was rerouted (aka kidnapped) on its way to Pella. I won't spoil the surprise by telling you who the guilty party was in case you want to read up on it (hint: you should!). In any case, the game allows (encourages?) one to do this. Everyone wants credit for burying Alexander's body. Why not use treachery and steal it rather than the riskiness of overtly taking it via combat? This is a wargame, but battle is merely a means to an end. Victory is achieved by proper conquering of land and the earning of legitimacy, none of which is directly gained from combat. Combat is brutal as well. The losing power loses all elephants and mercenary troops. Loyal Macedonian troops are much more reliable and eventually return to service after a battle, but even that takes some time as each game turn represents several years of real time. Legitimacy (and Prestige) is another subgame where Royal Macedonian troops may shift allegiances to an opposing general. Craterus, being very popular among the troops tried to use this to his advantage. His adversary, the Greek Eumenes, knew this and was able to prevent his loyal Macedonian troops from defecting to Craterus' army. Craterus' arrogance cost him his life, and the game even incorporates this. Generals with a higher battle rating are more likely (though still rare) to be in the front lines and therefore die in battle! This is the only CDG I've played with the fun use of Surprise cards, which can be played anytime and immediately replaced. If you have Surprise cards you're not planning on using, you can even discard them to draw a replacement card. The game is heavy, but it also has a fair amount of dice rolling, and hence luck. However, if you go into it looking for a fun experience, and not necessarily a serious strategy game, then it's great fun with 3 other players. The various order of card events that occur as well as the varying starting generals makes me want to play this repeatedly. One of GMT's best.Easily overlooked rules:-A single general may not move more than 4 MPs with the play of the Treasury Looted event card.-Independent armies receive local troops.-And independent army may forgo movement in order to remove a PC marker.-An army must have min. of 3 CUs in order to roll on the siege/subj table.-A player does not need to be in the same space as Olympias in order for her to join your faction. Merely playing the activating card is sufficient, unlike the other women.-If the Silver Shields has already been played once, the card now counts as a Surprise card, and can be discarded and replaced just like any other.

4/1/2020

Suburbia Inc

Border til...

by Desiderata

Border tiles are interesting. New tiles are okay, and no opinion on the Bonus/Challenge tiles, as no one met them in our game.Still has the same problem in that the goals are too important and really define the game direction in too big of a manner.

4/1/2020

Suburbia

The design...

by Desiderata

The designer clearly borrowed from Through the Ages here. unfortunately, the lighter game with a spatial mechanic and city-building theme doesn't compare to the game by which it was influenced. The end game scoring itself just ruins the game. Purchasing tiles and placing them in your burough in order to benefit from them. Spatial in the sense that where you place it relative to other tiles will affect your income or reputation. Score is population plus bonus points for specific goals at game end (goals change from game to game). Negative seems to be that start player is a pretty significant disadvantage with no benefit at all. End-game goals (most of x, or fewest of x) score between 10 and 20 points each, and ties go to no one. Three of these goals are face up for all players from the beginning of the game, but each player has one "secret" goal that only he knows about.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

A great conquest game. There are many different options to take with your empire. Just the perfect amount of randomness for this type of game. Alliances are fickle, but in the end it's basically every man for himself. Includes many interesting mechanisms, including auction for turn order (and alliances), taxing for money and causing unrest among population, spending population to build armies, paying upkeep for armies, and combat rolls using the spread of dice outcomes. Easy to learn, but difficult to master, it seems. Probably better, the more players participating. Just the right amount of negotiation in a game, and I love how the alliances can change over the course of the game. Overall, an excellent psuedo-wargame with quite a bit of player interaction.

4/1/2020

Stronghold

My type of...

by Desiderata

My type of wargame--Euro mechanics with significant theme. Lots of tough decisions make for a nice game. Great components and artwork as well. No cheesy plastic miniatures! Tiles are very thin, however and therefore, difficult to handle. There are just too many great 2-player games and this one seems to always get overlooked. I'm not that interested in exploring this game anymore. Trade pile.

4/1/2020

Stone Age

Not bad fo...

by Desiderata

Not bad for a lighter worker-placement, but I'd rather play Pillars of the Earth for the same duration. Update: This is very easy to teach, and quick to play. Further bonus points for scaling well from 2-4, whereas PotE is good with only 3 or 4, and merely "okay" with just 2.

4/1/2020

Stockpile

No Review Title

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Steel Driver

Wow, this ...

by Desiderata

Wow, this is dry for a Wallace game! I think I prefer the pick up and deliver aspect of train games, rather than the stock ownership aspect. This game has players manipulating ownership of companies to build track around the U.S.

4/1/2020

Steam

Streamline...

by Desiderata

Streamlined Age of Steam with more tough decisions because of the split Income/VP track. Being able to use an entire delivery to increase the income makes it less brutal, but it works well. Map looks nice, great bits, and I like the new City Growth rules that replace the randomness of the former Production action in AoS. I still like AoS, but I definitely I prefer Steam. The Standard version is best, but I like that the Base game is an option if I want to teach newbies or want to get in a quicker game. To me, it's more strategic than AoS, because I don't have to worry so much about bankruptcy in the beginning, and I can focus on long-term shipping possibilities, rather than "where am I going to find something to ship *this turn* in order to keep from losing VPs?" I can employ a much more aggressive strategy in Steam than was possible in AoS. Steam eliminates the randomness and some of the brutality (not all!) to make for an overall more enjoyable gaming experience.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Start Player

This is no...

by Desiderata

This is not even a game. It's a stupid, annoying way to determine start player. I every time someone pulls this out, whether it's the tangible game or the app.Why is this even an entry? BGG go home. You are drunk.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

Dice allocation with the (thin) theme of Star Trek. Nice that they included characters and events from both TOS and TNG. Scales to different difficulties, so you can make it harder as you get better at it. Still a co-op, and possible for one player to dominate if you're playing with such a player.

4/1/2020

Spyrium

Can't thin...

by Desiderata

Can't think of anything bad or wrong with this game. Spyrium, despite the uninteresting theme, delivers as a game. Lots of potential screwage among the players here, but not so much that you can't plan ahead.

4/1/2020

Splendor

Take gems,...

by Desiderata

Take gems, spend gems on cards. Cards provide discount on other cards and some are worth points. Players accumulate both gems and cards to collect enough cards to equal or exceed 15 points. First to 15 wins.It's a decent game, but nothing too exciting. I think it gets favorable ratings due to it being new. Cult of the New and all.

4/1/2020

Shit!

Not bad fo...

by Desiderata

Not bad for the first 10 minutes, but after that, it loses it's fun factor. Aptly named.

4/1/2020

Ships

No Review Title

by Desiderata

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

A little long for my taste, but I like the bluffing aspect. I prefer games where the negotiation factor isn't as predominant and is more of a periphery aspect though.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

Cool theme and decent gameplay. I'm just concerned it's inherently more difficult (and therefore unbalanced) when there is a traitor.

4/1/2020

Shadow Throne

Before I b...

by Desiderata

Before I became a boardgame geek, I would consider this a pretty good game. Now that I'm spoiled with wonderful games, I consider this one merely okay. It's neither boring nor exciting. When you're constantly being introduced to new games, there really needs to be something special to get much in the way of positive commentary from me. I'll leave it at that.

4/1/2020

Shadow Hunters

Very light...

by Desiderata

Very light team game where you are trying to figure out what role the other players are playing (Shadow, Hunter, or Neutral). Movement and Combat is very random, as well as card drawing. This game can be fun in a light-hearted gaming session, but there's not much strategy to it. It also suffers from player elimination, but at least it's pretty short.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

Too random and too much downtime. Fiddly as all get out.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

Block wargame yet different enough from the Colombia block wargames to make it interesting. There is only one health level of each block so you don't rotate them at all. Combat is entirely different, where you play "suits" of cards to assist a specific unit. It's similar to Maria, except that instead of the suit matching a location on the map, it matches a unit type. But, there is a different hand management aspect, as you are forced to discard half your hand at the beginning of each turn. This game is probably not great for hard-core grognards, as it's pretty abstract. I like the chess-like feel to it. It's open, but not too much so that you are paralyzed with options.

4/1/2020

Scythe

Decent gam...

by Desiderata

Decent game, but maybe too much emphasis on the production value (which is admittedly pretty good).

4/1/2020

Scotland Yard

Very simpl...

by Desiderata

Very simple deduction game of semi-cooperative nature. Pretty fun to run around London searching for Mr. X, while the Mr. X player tries to get away. Can travel via bus, taxi, or underground--but so can Mr. X!

4/1/2020

Santiago

Pretty goo...

by Desiderata

Pretty good auction game with simple rules, yet deep gameplay.

4/1/2020

San Marco

Very simpl...

by Desiderata

Very simple set of rules, but quite deep gameplay. Beautiful components and color variation are a bonus; just a beautiful game to look at. The card dividing rules make for very tough choices for not only the distributor, but also the players who choose a stack of cards first. I can see why some call this El Grande light. It's a great 3 player alternative to El Grande. I would still rather play El Grande with 4 or 5 players over this though. Oh, and DO NOT play this with any player who struggles with analysis paralysis. He will take forever to divide the card selections.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

It's good, but similar to how I feel about Jambo and Jaipur, it just feels lifeless. I suppose it's a nice short, effortless game you can knock out 2-player after dinner.

4/1/2020

San Juan

Enjoyable ...

by Desiderata

Enjoyable game that is engaging and thought-provoking without being a chore. There never seems to be enough cards in my hand for the building I want to build. Roles are nice, but some are used way more than others in a 2-player game. Good game to start out new players in order to later introduce them to Puerto Rico. Scales well from 2-4 players. Need more plays, as I always seem to forget to use the benefits of the buildings I have in play.Not as fun as Race for the Galaxy, but much easier to learn (and teach).

4/1/2020

Samurai

Tile layin...

by Desiderata

Tile laying game of majority scoring. Three scoring categories (rice, Buddhas, and helmets), all represented by pieces on the board. When all land spaces surrounding one or more pieces are filled with tiles, pieces are awarded to the player with the most points on tiles of the corresponding scoring category, but only the tiles adjacent to that space count. Object is to score most of at least two of the three categories. And then some other tie breakers that push players to get some of the other scoring categories as well. I find it to be a decent game, but not great. There are some special tiles that you can play extra on your turn which can really change things up, but ultimately, it's just a tile-laying game and a little too abstract for me to like more. No other real mechanics to explore here.

4/1/2020

St. Petersburg

Fun card d...

by Desiderata

Fun card drafting game. Seems very balanced and not too long for what it is. Would certainly enjoy more plays of this. I don't like the endgame as well as I do the rest of the game. More often than not, the last turn can screw you, if the cards you need don't come up, and you're left with all the cash, that is basically pointless (worth only a few measly VPs). Perhaps there is a way to hold cards in your hand just in case, but the penalty if you don't play them is just too severe to do this. It would be nice to see some varying strategies too. In every game, players focus on mainly Workers (Green) and later Aristocrats (Orange), while building very few Buildings (Blue).

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

Play a character in this fantasy world, trying to build up in abilities before your opponents so you can be the one to defeat the big bad guy. Subquests and movement are an improvement over Rune Quest. Still quite a bit of dice rolling, but a pretty fun adventure game. Graphic presentation is lacking.The fun is in the theme more so than the gameplay.

4/1/2020

by Desiderata

Knizia game with a silly theme. Seems mostly random. A little long for a filler.

4/1/2020