Red7

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (124 Total)

1
28
76
14
2

2015-6-1: Maybe I just need to play it more, but I find it to be more complicated than it needs to be. Sometimes determining who is actually winning the round can be confusing.Update 2015-8-6:Traded away b/c this never made it to the table. Just didn't interest me enough. I'd play if someone else had a copy but for my collection its just taking up space.

5/3/2020

It was okay. It's light and fast, but basically I think there are not many decisions about the way to play. Maybe there's a few at the beginning, but over time, I think it's basically just a number puzzle.

4/1/2020

There is a luck element with the draw but also a lot of strategy in how you play the cards you're dealt. I enjoy games that have a simple rule set but offer strategic depth without an instant, obvious win formula. There's a lot of fun to be had in this little box and I think the game design is ingenious.

3/29/2020

Rating based on 1st plays

3/18/2020

Mackenzie has enjoyed this so far. I'm interested to try it with adults.

2/28/2020

This isn't "Uno for gamers" because Uno isn't even a game. Many cards use numbers and colors on cards - Red7 just happens to do something very unique with it. The game doesn't get old because it plays so quickly but there are definitely days where your brain just can't be wrapped all the way around the strategy even though you won 100 games in a row the day before.

2/15/2020

Good game but I have to explain the rules every time it is played. Takes some time for my wife to wrap her head around it.

2/2/2020

Gets better with more plays, because you get to see the variety more readily and are more able to respond to changes in the game. Highly recommended to play with the Advanced Rules (drawing). The only time to go for ACTIONS is when you want a brain burner. It plays much more slowly, but boy, your mind really kicks into high gear with those.

1/30/2020

You are playing Red.

1/26/2020

2-4 Best with 3/4

1/26/2020

Played it a fair amount over the first year of having it, decided I was done with it and passed it on to a friend that had seemed to enjoy it lots while playing.

1/3/2020

Way too much randomness and luck

12/24/2019

Typical Chudyk, deep game in a small box.

12/20/2019

Sleeved.

12/20/2019

Great Filler Game. A lot of luck involved, but the puzzle you are solving is very engaging and you almost don't care who wins as long as you get to solve a fun puzzle.

12/12/2019

When I lose, I think it's the dumbest, most random game with no basis in logic or even normal probabilities. When I win, I'm the smartest genius in the world and can bend any hand of cards to my whim and judo your hand empty by turn 3. ;-)

11/13/2019

Far thinkier than what I want a card game to be. Too many times, one player is left paralyzed trying to analyze all their options. In reality, the optimal move is typically obvious.

10/25/2019

Fast to teach and play filler

9/19/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/red7-2014/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/red7-2014-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Very light filler

3/5/2019

At 2p, it hits the sweet spot for card game: relatively simple rules, quick play, high replayability. Not recommended at any other player count-- you lose control over how the decisions impact your opponent (most notably: you lose the power to fold in order to sacrifice short-term points for long-term gain). Genuinely don't understand why people choose to play this game without the advanced rules. It's light years better with the special actions.

1/23/2019

Neat card game. Definitely want to play with the more advanced rules, otherwise the game feels far too luck driven

1/23/2019

Red7 has just enough rules to bog it down. The seven different rules are straight forward enough, but the base game gets old quick. Adding in a variant can spice it up, but when adding more than one the rules overhead becomes excessive for a game of this weight. Overall, its a bit too short for players to feel deserving of their victory or defeat, and the variants don't do enough to encourage continued play.

1/11/2019

$6.90 23-Feb-17

1/10/2019

(10/16) 7. Fun, quick card game with unique "always lead or get eliminated" mechanic that's really great. (9/17) Drop to 6. Still love it for how easy it is to teach and quick to play, just haven't had it hiththe table in a little while.

12/22/2018