Wingspan

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (218 Total)

26
125
57
3
0

Much as it has stirred controversy for being over-hyped. Wingspan is in my opinion one of the most elegantly designed games I have come across. It is a dream to team as so much of the game is presented in bite size chunks on the cards that you really only have to teach about 4 rules. It is a nice lightweight, minimal interaction engine builder and the art work and components are gorgeous.

5/25/2020

This game is mad dank. Our most played game for sure

5/14/2020

A family and non-gaming group favorite. Beautiful game and components and full of great (even if sometimes meaningless) decisions.

4/14/2020

A family and non-gaming group favorite. Beautiful game and components and full of great (even if sometimes meaningless) decisions.

4/14/2020

by Wyrd

Smooth, gorgeous, clever, and adored by my family. Wonderfully interconnected design makes for satisfying bird-engines that are easy for new players to jump into, and still engaging for experienced veterans trying new things. A lovely example of visual and mechanical design combining as they should to make an excellent end product.

4/14/2020

While I'd argue Wingspan isn't a thematic game mechanically, I've never played something that benefits from production detail and visuals as much as Wingspan. Somehow these birds have warmed my cold, dead, Euro heart.Unfortunately for me, Wingspan is built on foundational mechanics that are luck heavy. I often find myself frustrated with the engine I've built because of how singularly tactical and luck dependant your situation CAN feel. Wingspan also lacks meaningful player interaction, and runs long for it's complexity level.When Wingspan gels, the game is fun, the decisions are crunchy, and the combos are satisfying.

4/1/2020

Good game, with an underutilized theme. Gameplay goes well with the theme and there are even biological facts included on each bird card. Many of the bird effects are thematically tied to their biological facts as well which is a nice touch. I think a couple of particular area needs improvement/tweaking. End game resulted in 3 of the 4 of us just going for eggs with final few actions. No real incentive to go for birds (unless there is one for a high VP value), food, or cards so the end game felt rather railroady for most of us (one player pursued his extra hidden goal cards instead of going for eggs). Otherwise, it was a really enjoyable experience.

4/1/2020

This one was alright. We played it with 4, I enjoyed the fact that each of the cards is completely unique with regards to the bird contained on the cards. Light Engine Builder that was easy to teach/learn.

4/1/2020

Love the theme, components and artwork. Really nice, streamlined rules with meaningful decisions to take during gameplay. I would say it's even a relaxing game.

3/24/2020

Weight: 2.37 / 5

3/18/2020

New Stonemeier Game with a cool theme: Birds!

3/18/2020

1-5

3/7/2020

I got lucky and got a copy of one the first shipments. It is a really good game, but not worth $90-$100 I've seen from price gougers. Art is beautiful. Game play is simple, but with meaningful choices. This is one where I think the theme was looked over (who wants to play a bird game), but once you play it you really appreciate how the cards, components, and game play all comes together.

3/5/2020

What a fantastic game! Like Viticulture, the theme does little for me (more than wine though), but the game is great and beautiful!

3/2/2020

Great game, great art, interesting theme, great first game by an up and coming designer. Excellent production!

2/3/2020

Only one play so far, I think the rating will likely go up after a few more.

1/28/2020

Precisely what you would expect from a Stonemaier tableau builder--next to zero player interaction, scoring that is unfocused, rather high degree of variance, and extremely pretty. The theme is incoherent, to the point of absurdity, so pretty much all you have are awesome bird drawings.

1/26/2020

A Pawn's Pick 2020 Gold Winner https://pawnsperspective.com/a-pawns-picks-2019/

1/26/2020

Expansion: - European Expansion - Swift Start Promo Pack Nice simple engine builder with an interesting and well implemented theme - birds. Plays relatively quick and keeps entertainment high throughout the game.

1/25/2020

Gorgeous art and a very solid engine-builder with significant random elements.

1/24/2020

One of my new favorite games! Takes a few plays to really figure out how to play intelligently but it is all I want to play right now.

1/4/2020

Yannow, it lives up to the hype. More than just a gorgeous game (and it _is_ gorgeous), this engine-builder is easy to teach, has very quick turns, offers you a lot of choices, and really rewards smart play. This quickly became a top five game for me, and I take it to any game night I attend.

1/2/2020

This game is one of 3 that my wife will play with me. So even though I like other games better it gets the higher rating. Love the theme and that each game your engine builds a little differently due to the different brown abilities on each card.

12/20/2019

Variable card powers Played with: :d10-5:-players with :indigo::tobacco: wife and B&BG friends...:star::star::star::star::nostar: :d10-4:-players with :tobacco: B&BG friends :star::star::star::star::nostar: Intend to play with: :indigo::tobacco: Wife, Work/B&BG/CABS friends :coffee: Great for most unknown friends Possible Player counts: :d10-2::d10-3::d10-4::d10-5:-players and has a :d10-1:-player variant Best with :d10-2::d10-3::d10-4::d10-5:-player I am told it is good at :d10-1:-player :d6-1: Level of joy :star::star::star::star::nostar: :d6-2: Must like: #variable card powers #engine building :d6-3: 1st edition :d6-4: :heart: keeper value :arrowE: unchanged from purchase price :d6-5: Similar to in my collection: Terraforming Mars, Euphoria :d6-6: have not tried the solo mode :jug: I love the theme. It handles all player counts well. Is complex but is pretty intuitive to play. Top notch components. October 2019 $41.97

12/14/2019

Beautiful game. It looks so pretty on the table and the components and cards are excellent. Game play wise, this is on the lighter side of tableau/engine builders. I can understand why people are raving about this game, but with such limited time to play games we prefer something with a little more meat to it. Would play again.

12/12/2019

Beautiful, streamlined game with loads of potential. Sometimes I find myself wishing for "one more layer" of complexity, but most times I appreciate the utter approachability and I have fun win or lose.

12/11/2019

I've only played this once, but I want to play it again. I really like the engine building mechanic and uniqueness of each individual card. The art is beautiful realistic pictures of birds and each card has a different bird and fun fact.

12/3/2019

Good. Not Great. I'd rather just crank through a game of Race for the Galaxy. I don't need a copy in my library, but if it were the only thing on offer, I probably wouldn't turn my nose up at it. Nothing about it WOWs me though.

11/13/2019

Beautiful. Easy to play engine builder. Variety of ways to get points.

10/25/2019

It's beautiful. For some it's over hyped, but we're bird lovers, and love watching birds, so it was an instant buy. It took a while to get, but it was worth the weight.

10/22/2019

Played just once. Just learning but definitely want to keep playing this game and look at different strategies. My wife really likes this game as well. Have played a complete 2 player game. Took us awhile in making sure we had the rules correct but enjoyed the game and will play again.

10/18/2019

terrible game with little to no playtest

10/18/2019

Wingspan had a great unique theme and fun engine building scheme. Easy to teach new players and is immediately engaging.

10/17/2019

Best: 3 Time: 40-70 Min Weight: 2.37

10/17/2019

Wonderful engine-builder that just runs silky smooth.

6/20/2019

Unique set collection game. I like the activation mechanic and the end-of-round scoring. I can't see two game being the same. Gorgeous components (except that plain-Jane score sheet pad) are visually appealing. The birdfeeder is gimmicky, but fits the theme. Oh, the theme: it's birds. Not zombies, again. Or spaceships, again. Or dungeons, again. It's a very unique theme tied up in a great game system.

5/1/2019

Made rahdo top 25 for 2019 Interested as has automa for solo play Thought after first game - light engine building game (as in rules are very easy to explain) parts of which reminded me of deus. It was a 5 player game and everyone took a different path to victory. Scores ended up being within 5 points for the top 4. Lots of hidden depth I feel, with card combos not being fully exploited in our first game,

4/12/2019

Solid enginebuilder that flows nicely

3/19/2019

An easy to learn engine-builder that leaves you wanting more after each play. Light on player interaction but strong on offering options and interesting decisions every turn. Much like The Castles of Burgundy you will never feel like there's nothing you can do to help yourself, but you will often realize you cannot do exactly what you had hoped.

3/14/2019

Very sweet & enjoyable game, very simple to understand, and quick to play. If you get a lot of cards that work together it can turn runaway, though. Not perfect, but very sweet and some of my favorite artwork of all time.

3/6/2019

It's a friendly engine-building game to play with low-mid complexity and only taking 40 to 60 minutes to finish a game. Pretty decent replayability with high diversity in cards and goals to change end of round scoring. Randomness in card draw and available food resources to pay for cards does affect your strategy, but never in a way that makes you lose. Adaptability is key. The engine you try to build in Round 1 won't necessarily be the engine you end up with in Round 4. Player interaction in this game is limited but still inclusive. People take food resources and bird cards from a shared pile. There are also birds with abilities that feed off of other players. For example, a card may have you gain a food resource when another player gains one. This serves to still have competitive interaction between players but limited to positive gains. No player will attack another player's engine or do damage to their board. This is great for players who don't want to damage another player because they don't like the feeling of doing so. The artwork is beautiful for a rare theme that might not appeal to everyone. All in all, it is a great game and I enjoy it very much. Because of it's quick time to play, it serves as a great warm-up game with serious players but can also serve as a fun intro game to more casual and light-hearted players who want a competitive game without attacking each other through "violent" actions.

1/9/2019