Forbidden Island

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (310 Total)

3
60
205
27
4

i like this game. When i played it with friends it was... fine. I enjoyed myself but it felt like a lesser pandemic and if it disappeared from my life it would be okay. THEN i played it with my nephews; and they loved it. I had so much fun playing with them, probably more fun than i ever did playing pandemic on more serious "gamer" nights. They loved the treasures, and flippng the cards as they sank, i did have to change the rules a bit to make it easier for them to grasp (i didnt put in hand limits) but i cannot recommend this highly enough for people with younger kids.

4/18/2020

by Wyrd

One of the best little co-op games, great for a family of any ages. The way it uses the tiles as a collapsing board is really neat.

4/15/2020

Not as good as Pandemic, but also not as long. Maybe too light for my taste. I'll hang on to it to play with non-gamers when they're looking for something light and/or non-confrontational. I'm sure my son will like it when he's a year or two older.Update: Yup, my son loves it!

4/1/2020

by dcoe

The designer of Pandemic needed a new yacht; he figured that he could pay for it with the allowances of middle-schoolers.

4/1/2020

Not a fan for 'solo' cooperative game.

3/24/2020

Weight: 1.74 / 5

3/18/2020

We've played a few games with 2 and 3 players and the thrill to get off the island safely and to cooperate in order to make it is quite fun, much more so than a lot of childish games, which also are based on cooperative play. We'll play this again.

3/18/2020

2-4

3/7/2020

a nice little co-operative game.

3/4/2020

Sold on August 5 2018

2/26/2020

My family loves this game!

2/26/2020

Pandemic style co-op game, high quality components, kid friendly, no reason not to have in your collection.

2/24/2020

Components, co-op, theme, fun!

2/3/2020

Good, feels too similar to Pandemic and I like Pandemic more

2/3/2020

Forbidden island is a great game. granted it is pretty easy, and doesn't create a drastic challenge like it's big brother Pandemic, but I feel like it is a game that more non-gamers would be drawn to because of the theme, and complexity. Also, being a teacher, Forbidden island is a lot easier to pull out with my younger students. The biggest draw back is I feel it is a lot easier to suffer from an alpha gamer in this game rather than other co-op games.

1/31/2020

Pandemic does a number of clever things to make you forget you're just hanging around waiting for the cards you need to cure something; Forbidden Island lacks these things. As such, you just hang around waiting for the cards you need. That said, the sinking island mechanic is perhaps marginally better than Pandemic's cube spread--so there is something nifty. That, and the incredibly gorgeous components.

1/26/2020

It was a nice puzzle the first few playthroughs but it doesn't give me any reason to want to continue playing after beating it a couple times.

1/25/2020

by sky

Good as introduction to co-op but I'm giving it a low-ish score having played both Pandemic and Forbidden Desert several times prior to this, so it now feels a bit too basic.

1/11/2020

This is Pandemic-lite... for kids. That's not a bad thing, it's just what it is. A quick, clean, clear, cooperative filler. That's what it sets out to do, and it does it well.

1/10/2020

As I don't tend to like co-operative games this is comparatively high for me. Being simple and short makes it far more likely to interest me than Pandemic will.

1/3/2020

Hatfield

12/21/2019

Essentially a multi-player puzzle. I'd rather play this than Pandemic, since it's quicker and less involved, but I'm still not into these types of co-ops.

12/20/2019

Sleeved

12/20/2019

April 2017 $8.39

12/14/2019

Too light and pure co-op

12/12/2019

Very short, very cool co-op board game. Great filler or great to play with the family.

12/5/2019

Location: Kallax

12/3/2019

Have had more close calls and exciting ends to this game than I have Pandemic. Easier to teach, and a whole lot faster to play, set up and put away. _____ Like it even more now than before.

11/14/2019

Forbidden Island is a really fun balanced cooperative game, but I sometimes wish I had the expansion for a bit more depth.

11/12/2019

This streamlined and simple version of 'Pandemic' delivers fun game-play in a short playing time. Great for playing with beginners or with kids. As will all co-ops, watch out that one person doesn't take over. Nice art, but I hate the tin box. INCLUDES: ArtsCow additional characters ArtsCow additional islands ArtsCow additional object powers

10/25/2019

Basically a lightweight version of Pandemic. Super-fun and makes a great filler or gateway game. Also good for younger kids.

10/22/2019

I love using this to introduce children to non competitive gaming.

10/16/2019

Don't like the tin, however I like the game more than pandemic because there isn't always a scripted set of actions you MUST take to survive.

9/10/2019

"Pandemic Light"

6/16/2019

Co-op

5/21/2019

Potential to rise or fall at moments notice. It depends on how it plays at higher difficulties

5/15/2019

Actions feel like they're on rails at times, but otherwise a wonderful simple co-op game.

5/14/2019

This is a very quick co-operative game. Great entry game to show non gamers that there are other board games beside monopoly. Couldn't play this all the time, but its a very good filler game. 05.03.2012 - Changing rating to a 6 which reflects my views on the game. Its simple fun but after 2 consecutive games I always find myself wanting to do anything else.

4/12/2019

Good as introduction to co-op but I'm giving it a low-ish score having played both Pandemic and Forbidden Desert several times prior to this, so it now feels a bit too basic.

4/11/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/forbidden-island-2010/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/forbidden-island-2010-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Watered down pandemic. Mini idols are cool and the flip and destruction of tiles is a good visual conponent. Great for gateway and families of younger kids.

3/6/2019

Decent co-op game, but too many B.S. luck wins or losses. More straight forward than Pandemic, for example.

3/5/2019

I would personally rather play Pandemic than this every time, but if I am playing with my family, this is a good alternative.

2/16/2019

Another great game for cooperative play that leads to good gamer interaction. Buy It!

2/15/2019

Easy to teach and plays quickly. After playing Forbidden Desert for the first time I think this might get replaced by it eventually.

2/14/2019

THE gateway game for Co-ops. Keep a copy of this game in your collection if for no other reason than to introduce co-op games to people in less than an hour.

2/12/2019

Love this Game, works so well with the people I can play with. Great length of play too

1/23/2019

Plays like a simplified Pandemic; cool theme, quick play, and dramatic difficulty. Great for kids. Really low price, really high quality. iPad version is amazing! I'd rather play Pandemic, but this seems real good for a certain age group.

1/22/2019

I don't think it would be unfair to call this game Pandemic for Kids, as it's the same designer and the same core mechanics, but with everything simplified a bit and the theme changed to be more kid-friendly (I assume kids would rather be treasure hunters exploring island ruins than be the CDC trying to prevent biological Armageddon). If kid-friendly was a priority for me, I'd probably rate this game more favorably, but I don't have kids, and I don't play with kids, so I'd rather just play Pandemic.

1/21/2019

Great introduction to coops for new/young players. Replaced by Pandemic and other coops for more experienced players.

1/21/2019

2017-09-16 - Bought starlitcitadel; don't like co-ops; got it for the kids;

1/21/2019

It’s a simple introduction to coop board games but I don’t think I’ll be playing it anymore.

1/17/2019

Very Simple, hard to lose, but if you do its all luck because the decisions are so easy, easy to alpha game.

1/15/2019

Matt Leacock's design aesthetic is immediately apparent in this game. The accelerating rate of the constantly sinking island, and the various roles are streamlined from Pandemic. This streamlining makes for a much simpler game, but also feels like a major step backward. The game hinges too strongly on the timing of the 'Waters Rise' cards. A few too early, or a few too closely together can make the game unbeatable even with optimal play, which feels more frustrating that challenging. Despite all of the changes I still find Pandemic to be much more enjoyable, but if you are a Leacock fan looking for a shorter and easier experience, this is your game.

1/11/2019

(+) Good gateway to co-ops, different player abilities, cool theme, has some close finishes, variable difficulty (-) Most of the tiles are not important and are given up as flood fodder, trading cards is frustrating (can't take cards from others, they can only be given), can feel same-y

1/10/2019

The first co-op game we bought. One of our main games we play with new players and even parents. Doesn't hit the table as much since we haven't had any new people in out group. Classic.

1/10/2019

Short and fun co-op game, good as a filler. If you try to arrange the map in different ways it can get pretty difficult.

1/10/2019

I bought fan made exp when free shipping on http://www.artscow.com/gallery/playing-cards/forbidden-island-official-zjrsvu26d3e0 https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/569926/official-variant-tile-layouts/page/16

1/10/2019

A fun light co-op game that can easily be used to get new people into the hobby if they're not into competitive games.

12/24/2018

(11/15) 4. Sold at Strategicon Auction! (10/17) 4. Another fine gateway that I probably won't play again. Especially since I prefer Desert.

12/22/2018

In Germany

12/22/2018

Nice light co-op game that my wife also enjoys playing. My 6 year old son has also played and he loved it.

12/22/2018