Friday Reviews

Friday has 229 reviews with an average rating of 3.35 / 5.

Rating Summary (229 Total)

12
81
106
21
4

Intriguing and fun but frustrating.

2/15/2021

I haven’t found a more satisfying solo game.

1/28/2021

Cool solo game that is a pretty cool spin on deck building. Good balance of punishment and card acquisition. Makes it challenging and engaging.

1/19/2021

Great solo deck builder. Not a fan of the theme

1/13/2021

Played this a ton. Delia even played this solo. Simple filler that has a level of difficulty that is beyond me. Put up for sale and didn't have any takers.

12/26/2020

After playing other 1P games I just don't feel this game is all that great anymore. More than likely will trade/sell it.

12/22/2020

Good design.

12/12/2020

Very good condition, only played a few times.SR - $3BIN - $7

11/27/2020

I don't play many solo games but i heard good things about this one and it turns out i really enjoyed it.I was impressed by this deck builders allegory for survival through experience while facing the inevitability of old age.However, after i had beaten the game, despite it having a scoring mechanism, i haven't felt compelled to go back to it. Mainly because i don't play solo board games. Though, if the power goes out and i'm by myself looking for something to play, i'll probably pick it back up.

11/8/2020

I've gone from being very lukewarm about Friday to now appreciating what a small stroke of genius it is. I think that realisation has partly come about due to having played more games to compare it to. It certainly wasn't an insta-hit with me. The art work has grown on me as well, although I'd be first in line if the next print run came with a re-skin. It really deserves it. Admirably tight game design and hard as nails. Love it!

11/3/2020

Good game. I play the app.

10/27/2020

Good solo. Starting to tire of it though. Not sure if I'll want to work on it enough to be an expert.

8/22/2020

one of the most played solo game of my collection. The App makes it great filler during wait time. the secret is try to beat the powerful cards at the beginning and cleaning up the deck from the start by sacrificing few strong cards.

8/20/2020

Level 1 - 1/5Scores: 72

8/17/2020

September 2019$8.69

7/26/2020

1 play, I like. It is hard but I love the theme.

7/20/2020

Solo gaming is just not my thing, I guess.

4/1/2020

Interesting little deck builder and a very fun exercise to play a few times and get better, but I feel like this one is going to end eventually, it might take some time. Yes there is some RNG, but you get to the point where you know the decisions your going to make every time and its not something you have to think about anymore to find what's optimal in the new situation.Like I said, it might take a long time to get to that point if you're playing the physical game. If you play the app, you can probably do it much more quickly. But it's still going to be several hundred games or so I think to win consistently on the hardest level.For the record, it's much easier to make dumb mistakes on the App because you're playing faster. When the physical game I am much more deliberate in my choices.

4/1/2020

Weight: 2.13 / 5

3/18/2020

Played this twice and lost twice.....grrrr. Want to retry as I can't stand losing, especially to the game I just hope I'm not too dumb to win

3/18/2020

Solo deck-builder that I could never beat.

2/14/2020

No Review Description

2/3/2020

Very nice design. What's especially impressive is how is captures a sense of progression (from gormless to pirate-killer) in such a compact frame. Not terribly sure that there's room for much clever play, though.

1/26/2020

A fantastic one-player game. I didn't really know what to expect, even after watching a couple of playthroughs. But once I got into the swing of things, I realized that this is a fantastically interesting deck-builder, with a lot of strategy. I lost the first two rounds I played, using the easiest difficulty, so it's no walk in the park.

1/24/2020

Originally rated an 8 but I have to admit my interest went down after a while. I also generally lowered several games that were highly rated to normalise against favourites.

1/13/2020

Simple game play, once you get the hang of what's going on... but the DECISIONS are varied and excruciatingly wonderful. ;) This is certainly a go-to solo adventure game, as it plays relatively quickly.

1/10/2020

Where Pandemic introduced me to the concept of co-op boardgames, Friday introduced me to the concept of solo boardgaming. I was so intrigued by the concept and so interested in all the glowing reviews I had to pick up a copy. This is a challenging little thing, that's deceptively clever and brilliantly designed. It's quite challenging, at least I find myself losing most of the time by barely reaching the pirates and then being successfully owned in no time at all. It's good fun nonetheless, and a great intro to solo gaming.

12/15/2019

Good solo game. It is difficult to win but keeps me engaged and is quick enough to play through a few times in one sitting.

12/12/2019

Traded for The Resistance: Avalon on 3/22

7/15/2019

A fun solo deckbuilder, just not one I find myself going back to often.

5/13/2019

Mechanically a great game, I just hadn't really fun playing it. Looks like I'm not really into solo games after all.

4/23/2019

Mechanically a great game, I just hadn't really fun playing it. Looks like I'm not really into solo games after all.

4/23/2019

7.1 after first play. Not normally a solo gamer, but as i've some time free, thought i'd give this one a go. Glad i did, fun & light game.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/friday-2011/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/friday-2011-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Game is brutal to me. Everytime I think I'm building a decent deck I get smashed... Fun but punishing for me.

3/6/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (4.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: REALLY FUN (5.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (8.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (9.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: ZERO (4.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: PURE SKILLS (6.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (7.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: INFINITE (1.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (9.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (5.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (7.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: GORGEOUS (7.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (8.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (7.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ZERO (7.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: JUST PERFECT (8.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 282/50 = 5.64[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Quick, compact solo game that can be set up and played almost anywhere. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- Too random/dependant on drawing good cards for my tastes.

3/1/2019

digitale versie op android

2/18/2019

Excellent solo game that knows what it is. Funny theme that fits perfectly, too. The only disappointing thing is the poor translation.

2/16/2019

1, 25m

1/25/2019

Help Robinson Crusoe overcome difficulties and learn how to survive through a clever deck-building and deck-demolition mechanic. Fairly thematic, with overcome threats providing logical benefits and a gradual narrative build to a climactic battle against pirates. Solo game... if I could play a game with similar mechanics with someone, co-op or competitive, it would easily get a 8+.

1/22/2019

Friday is good at killing some time. After a few plays I felt I had 'solved' it. Probably I haven't, really, but I've not felt the urge to come back to it since then. Update: I came back to this game a year later, and was not able to beat it! I quite enjoyed trying, though! Upgrading from 5 to 6.

1/21/2019

A very solid solo game. Enjoyable.

1/15/2019

Like all solo games, Friday is a puzzle, which is at first a formidable one. Throughout the game you must remove detrimental cards from circulation, while taking care to not age too quickly. This balance is difficult to both fully control and to master, which is a great characteristic of a solitaire game. However, after several plays the game begins to play itself as players fall into familiar patterns, at a faster rate than other solo games. If the pirates had more variety, as to force strategy modification, Friday would be a great game, but it still a worthy selection for a solitaire fan.

1/11/2019

(11/15) 7. (10/17) Drop to 4. A fine game that I'm probably underrating. I just so rarely want to play a solo game.

12/22/2018

A almost perfect solo game. The only thing is i never win it -_-

12/22/2018

Excellent solo deck builder.

12/19/2018

Digital

12/18/2018